NOCA Volunteer Award

The NOCA Volunteer Award is an opportunity for NOCA member clubs to recognize their volunteers. Each year three (3) awards will be presented and we encourage you to nominate individuals from your curling club. The worthy recipient is one who is always willing to help out whether it be at registration, teaching juniors, doing repairs or renovations, running a league, conducting clinics, working behind the bar, doing kitchen duty at a bonspiel, or any other volunteer effort that helps make the club successful. This award is for anyone in your club; age is not a factor.

NOCA Club Recognition Award

The NOCA Club Recognition Award will be awarded by the NOCA Board to a club which has demonstrated outstanding efforts to promote and develop the sport of curling in its community. This may include providing training to curlers and staff, promoting curling development, upgrading facilities, hosting events, or any other effort which enhances the profile of the club and curling in the community or region.


The Ontario Sport Awards are a provincial award program established in 1965 to honour and promote athletic achievement and participation in sport and fitness. The awards annually recognize athletes and coaches who have distinguished themselves nationally or internationally in the previous year, as well as corporate sponsors and volunteers who have contributed to the development of amateur sports in Ontario.

What are the categories of recognition?

Ontario Sport Awards are given in the following categories:

  • Team of the Year
  • Athlete with a Disability
  • Male Athlete of the Year
  • Female Athlete of the Year
  • Male Coach of the Year
  • Female Coach of the Year
  • Special Achievement Award for Volunteers
  • Corporate Sport Citation

Please note that the Ontario Sport Awards are on hiatus for 2015 pending program review.

The Ontario Volunteer Service Awards recognize individual volunteers for continuous years of commitment and dedicated service to an organization.

Adults are recognized for five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30+, 40+, 50+ and 60+ years of continuous service. Youth (under the age of 24) are recognized for two or more years of continuous service.

  • Develop additional means to recognize the achievements of our athletes, volunteers, coaches, officials, volunteers and staff.